top of page

a poem.

.

This is not a love story

And I thought that it was

Just as I thought that

Sky was supposed to be blue

Grass - green

And fire - red.

But this is not a love story.

And for a second, I thought that it was.

Just as I thought

That a smile meant affection,

Hug meant closure

And a kiss - meant everything.

So...

What is this story supposed to be?

 

After some time, I became fully aware

That this is a love story!

It just took me a second

To realise that

To me

Sky was heavens

Grass was flowers

And fire was crimson.

Everything brighter

clearer

and loved.

Yet whole another second to realise

That it doesn't take two to love.

This is a life story.

When you realise

That smile is just a show off

A hug well practiced

And a kiss - meaningless.

 

This is the story

That I couldn't help but write

On the year which sang by 18th summer

On a darkest month

Who thought me

That there is no such thing

As heartbreak:

Your heart is there

and fully whole.

There is only fire

and pain.

Like melting a candle wax

Right onto the wound

And living with it.

 

Just as I said.

This is the story.

Story about fools.

And story about men.

Wise men.

Who said that only fools

rush in.

 

Amela Tufo - March, 2017


bottom of page